Davis & Davis Attorneys at Law
Call For An Appointment :
724-320-2388

Driving Under the Influence in Pennsylvania

driving-under-influence.jpg

As children we dream of that special birthday! Song writers have written billboard hits, and film makers have created rom-coms about it. But in Western Pennsylvania, the drivers permit is the real reason behind the hype of turning sweet 16. Although the 16 year old's dream is coming true, it's the parents biggest nightmare, and for good reason.

Perhaps it is the dark windy roads, and the amount or the reckless deer. Or maybe it's because there is not much for teenagers to do. But statistics show that drunk driving accidents are increasing every year. In 2015, 10,558 car crashes occurred. This resulted in 5,274 injuries, 321 fatal crashes, and 345 deaths. And, despite these tragedies, so many people have such a nonchalant attitude regarding driving under the influence. Of course, there is a difference between a 37 year old having their third offense and a 17 year old having their first offense. Ten percent of drivers are under the age of 21, yet they are responsible for 17 percent of fatal alcohol-related crashes. In 2003, Pennsylvania started taking this violation of the law a little more seriously by passing ACT 24. ACT24 ACT 24 is a bill which decreased the blood alcohol level permitted to 0.08% and, it also introduced alcohol treatment program into the offense. Below are some facts about driving under the influence in Pennsylvania. Low Blood Alcohol (BAC) 0.08% to 0.099% First Offense: $300 fine 6 months of probation Mandatory alcohol highway safety school Alcohol and drug treatment Second Offense: Fines ranging from $300 to $2 ,500 Driver's license suspended for 1 year 5 days to 6 months in prison Mandatory alcohol highway safety school Alcohol and drug treatment Ignition Interlock system for 1 year Third Offense: Fines ranging from $500 to $5 ,000 2nd degree misdemeanor charge Driver's license suspended for 1 year Prison from 10 days to 2 years Alcohol and drug treatment Ignition Interlock system for 1 year High Blood Alcohol (BAC) 0.10% to 0.159% First Offense: Fines ranging from $500 to $5,000 Driver's license suspended for 1 year 48 hours to 6 months in prison Mandatory alcohol highway safety school Alcohol and drug treatment Second Offense: Fines ranging from $750 to $5 ,000 Automatic driver's license suspension for 1 year 30 days to 6 months in prison Mandatory alcohol highway safety school Alcohol and drug treatment Ignition Interlock system for 1 year Third Offense: Fines ranging from$1,500 to $10,000 1st degree misdemeanor charge Automatic driver's license suspension of 18 months 90 days to 5 years in prison Alcohol and drug treatment Ignition Interlock system for 1 year Fourth Offense and Subsequent Offenses: Fines ranging from $1,500 to $10 ,000 1st degree misdemeanor charge Automatic driver' s license suspension for 18 months 1 to 5 years in prison Alcohol and drug treatment Ignition Interlock system for 1 year Highest Blood Alcohol (BAC) 0.16% and over/Controlled Substance First Offense: Fines ranging from $1 ,000 to $5,000 Driver's license suspended for I year 72 hours to 6 months in prison Mandatory alcohol highway safety school Alcohol and drug treatment Second Offense: Fines ranging from $1,500 to $10,000 1st degree misdemeanor charge Automatic driver's license suspension of 18 months 90 days to 5 years in prison Mandatory alcohol highway safety school Alcohol and drug treatment Ignition Interlock system for 1 year Third Offense and Subsequent Offenses: Fines ranging from $2,500 to $10,000 1st degree misdemeanor charge Automatic driver's license suspension of 18 months 1 to 5 years in prison Alcohol and drug treatment Ignition Interlock system for 1 year Attend every AA meeting with a positive attitude. Especially if this is your second or third offense. It is crucial that you have proven to the judge that you have a capability to change. Show up to the court room as if you are going to a job interview. And although it sounds superficial, appearance means everything. Always be honest with your attorney . It is a non-judgment zone. The number one solution is a simple fix , please Don ' t drink and drive. Call us if you have any legal problem. Our attorneys are here to help!

car-mirror.jpg

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For a Response

Contact Us Today

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Super Lawyers AV LexisNexis Martindale-Hubbell | Peer Review Rated Avvo Ratings. Guidance. The Right Lawyer. NBLSC Board Certified Lawyers Multi-Million Dollar Advocates Forum Trustwave Trusted Commerce | Click to Validate

Davis & Davis Attorneys At Law

107 East Main St.
Uniontown, PA 15401

Phone: 724-320-2388
Fax: 724-437-2035
Uniontown Law Office Map

113 Thorton Road
Brownsville, PA 15417

Phone: 724-320-2388
Phone: 724-785-7733
Map & Directions

Davis & Davis Attorneys at Law

Davis & Davis Attorneys At Law